• Wed. Nov 29th, 2023

UGANDA, Kampala | Real Muloodi News | Cabinet has approved 25 industrial parks to be established in the sub-regions of Uganda. The move is part of the strategy to propel the country to middle-income status, reports the Daily Monitor. The State Minister, Evelyn Anite, tabled the proposal paper for Investment and Privatization.

“I presented a paper on industrialisation and manufacturing being a mechanism to take Uganda to middle income status. My paper, which was adopted and approved, was putting industrial parks in all the zones of the country. In every sub-region, which makes a zone, there is clearly going to be an industrial park. That makes it 20 zones, and the ones in the capital city, there will be a total of 25 parks,” Minister Anite told Daily Monitor in an interview.

A source in attendance at the Cabinet meeting chaired by President Museveni told Daily Monitor that Museveni commended the strategy.

“Government is prioritising investment in Industrial parks to support industrialisation and create jobs,” Mr. Museveni said in 2019.

The parks will emphasise value addition to agricultural products and minerals to increase exports while reducing imports. 

Cabinet resolved to place the construction of the parks under the Uganda People’s Defence Forces [UPDF] to quicken the process.

Local governments are to provide 500 acres of land free of disputes and outside wetlands for the projects.

Current and Proposed Industrial Park Sites

The proposed parks will be an addition to another 15 established in the last five years. They set these up in Mbale, Kapeeka, Buikwe, Njeru, Namanve, Jinja, Soroti, Kampala Industrial and Business Park, Luzira Industrial and Business Park, and Bweyogerere Industrial Estate. 

According to Daily Monitor, the new parks will be in Arua and Adjumani in West Nile, Gulu in Acholi, Lira in Lango, Moroto in Karamoja, Soroti in Teso, Mbale in Bugisu, Jinja in Busoga; Kabale in Kigezi and Rukungiri in Western; Mbarara in Ankole, and Hoima in Bunyoro. 

They will build others in Mengo, Kapeeka, Mukono, and Namanve.